Janet Jackson "Control" on vinyl for the first time since the album's initial release

The newest Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee’s groundbreaking multiplatinum third album is granted a 1LP vinyl reissue on 7 June


The Outside Organisation

On 7 June, A&M/UMe is set to release Janet Jackson’s iconic mega platinum-selling third album Control on single vinyl in two different colour options: black and translucent red. This will be the first time Control has been reissued on vinyl since the album’s initial release on 4 February 1986, and comes in advance of her hotly anticipated performances at Glastonbury Festival and Montreux Jazz Festival.

Fans who attend Janet’s newly announced Las Vegas residency Metamorphosis, opening at the Park Theater at Park MGM, will be able to purchase the album at the residency’s store alongside other unmissable merch. Fans can also pre-order the album below.

Over the course of its relentlessly catchy and danceable 42 minutes, Control instantly established Jackson, along with her co-writers/producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, as perennial pop and R&B innovators. The three of them continued to experiment and break new ground together on a number of subsequent best-selling releases, including 1989’s Rhythm Nation 1814 and 1993’s janet. Control is internationally recognised as a singular fusion of musical styles including rhythm and blues, funk, pop, soul, disco, and modern synthesised percussion. Control also solidified the fact that Janet Jackson had truly arrived as a liberated and noteworthy artist, one who ultimately emerged as a global superstar and a model for independent women the world over.

Since its debut, Control has sold more than 10 million copies worldwide. Certified Platinum in the UK and 5x Platinum in the United States, the album included four UK Top 20 singles: 'What Have You Done for Me Lately”, “Nasty”, “When I Think Of You” and “Let’s Wait Awhile”. In the States, the album made Billboard chart history for having the longest continuous run on the Hot 100 with singles from one album, ultimately tallying a remarkable 65 consecutive weeks.

Ms. Jackson is also gearing up for what promises to be a busy year ahead. Not only was she recently inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019, but her Las Vegas Residency, evocatively dubbed Metamorphosis, begins in May and is currently scheduled to run for 15 performances in total through August.

Janet Jackson’s Control is a career-defining statement from a singular artist, one who did it her way to handily prove that a visionary album with many hot, nasty grooves is quite worthy of aural revisitation on high-grade vinyl.

Preorder Janet Jackson’s Control here

Janet Jackson CONTROL [black vinyl & translucent red vinyl]

Side A
1. Control
2. Nasty
3. What Have You Done For Me Lately
4. You Can Be Mine

Side B
1. The Pleasure Principal
2. When I Think Of You
3. He Doesn’t Know I’m Alive
4. Let’s Wait Awhile
5. Funny How Time Flies (When You’re Having Fun)

April 20, 2019 12:00pm ET by Pressparty  

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2Xt88v6


Latest Press Releases