Swim Deep Release New Single “First Song” — Out Now

New album ‘There’s A Big Star Outside’ released Friday 7th June

Photo credit: Steve Gullick



Swim Deep have today shared their new single ‘First Song’ via Submarine Cat Records. It’s the second single to be taken from the band’s forthcoming new album ‘There’s A Big Star Outside’, due for release on 7th June. The album has been produced by Bill Ryder-Jones.

‘First Song’ taps into their band’s love of gauzy shoegaze and marries it to gentle swaying melodies and one of singer Austin Williams best vocals to date. Stitched together with deeply personal lyrics ‘First Song’ is another sign after comeback single ‘How Many Love Songs Have Died In Vegas?’ of the creative rebirth of Swim Deep and builds further anticipation for the band’s new long player out in the summer.

Frontman Austin talks about the track - "This song came about after Cavan got my heavy into Mogwai, and I got obsessed with this arpeggiated loop I had made. It’s one of those songs that just came crashing in and the baseline made itself. I wanted a driving force of a song that meant business. The lyrics are centred around my childhood dream to live a suburban life with two parents, two cars, a cat, a ‘nuclear’ family. However then reflecting that actually what I had was the making of me, and it was actually pretty cool. It offered me raw love, freedom, escapism, and I wouldn’t change it for all the Renault Scenics a big fancy summer holidays in the world."

‘There’s A Big Star Outside’ album heralds a creative rebirth, following close collaboration with beloved solo artist and producer Bill Ryder-Jones. With their most raw, affective and mature work to date, now stand on the precipice of something familiar but wholly new: a Swim Deep record that steps into the confident, experienced territory that you just can’t claim when you’re a wide-eyed twenty-something. Pre-order the album here.

‘There’s A Big Star Outside’ album tracklisting:

  1. How Many Love Songs Have Died In Vegas?
  2. Very Heaven
  3. These Words
  4. Robin
  5. Don't Make Me a Stranger
  6. First Song
  7. Big Star
  8. It's Just Sun In Your Eyes
  9. So Long, So Far (Marble-Bellied Baby)
  10. Fire Surrounds

Swim Deep have announced their first new live dates of the year alongside the single and album. The band kick off the tour in Manchester on 4th June and features eleven dates across the UK. See details below:

June 2024 headline tour date:

• Tue 4 – Manchester Deaf Institute
• Weds 5 – Nottingham Bodega
• Thurs 6 – Birmingham Hare
• Fri 7 – Bristol Rough Trade
• Sat 8 – Blackpool Bootleg Social
• Tue 11 – Southampton Papillon
• Weds 12 – Oxford Bullingdon
• Thurs 13 – London VU
• Fri 14 – Leeds Key Club
• Sat 15 - Newcastle Think Tank
• Sun 16 - Edinburgh Mash House

Swim Deep are Austin Williams, Cavan McCarthy, James Balmont, Robbie Wood and Thomas Fiquet.

March 27, 2024 5:35am ET by Newsdesk  

, , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: https://bit.ly/3xk3wOY


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages