Shortlink to this content:

Thursday, September 17, 2020 6:00pm ET by  
Comments (0)

Yungblud announces brand new album "Weird!"

 Yungblud is set to release his sophomore album, Weird!

Today, as the album pre-order launched, the British singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist shared a new track, 'god save me, but don’t drown me out'.

Beginning as a modern bedtime prayer and ending with a tender goodnight message to his fans, the song is anchored by bristling guitars that echo the mounting pressures that his generation faces. Charting a course from inner turmoil to self-acceptance, Yungblud creates a soaring, transcendent anthem in the process. He co-produced the track with longtime collaborators Chris Greatti (Poppy, Grimes) and Zakk Cervini (Bishop Briggs, Machine Gun Kelly).

Listen to "god save me, but don't drown me out" here.
Pre-order WEIRD! here.

Doubling down on the raw vulnerability first glimpsed on his powerhouse 2018 debut album, 21st Century Liability, and his 2019 EP, hope for the underrated youth, Weird! is YUNGBLUD’s most emotionally complex body of work to date.

He recorded it at studios in London and Los Angeles with Cervini, Greatti and another frequent collaborator, Matt Schwartz (Cold War Kids, Bullet For My Valentine, Massive Attack). True to Yungblud’s fierce refusal to box himself in, Weird! embodies a wildly eclectic collage of sound: Queen-inspired harmonies, Beatles-esque chord progressions, elements of dance-punk and glam-rock and hip-hop and metal (See below for track listing).

The 23-year-old artist aka Dominic Harrison explains: “It’s a story of coming-of-age and self-acceptance and liberation, in terms of sex and gender and drugs and heartbreak and all the other twists and turns we go through in life.”

Likening Weird! to a “Skins” episode in album form, he adds: “I hope it makes people feel like it’s okay to feel out of place or twisted or weird, because life is weird — but that’s what beautiful about it. So don’t ever try to live it as someone else. Live it as you.”

Fans who pre-order the digital album will instantly receive 'god save me, but don’t drown me out' plus the recently released 'Weird!' and 'Strawberry Lipstick'. New merchandise is now available at Yungblud’s website here, where fans can pre-order the album in CD, vinyl and cassette formats.

Yungblud, a 2020 VMA nominee for the PUSH Best New Artist award, has also been busy with variety of other projects. He contributed the incendiary 'Lemonade (feat. rapper Denzel Curry) to the Madden NFL 21 Soundtrack. In early September, Bring Me The Horizon released 'Obey,' their collab with Yungblud, which premiered on BBC Radio 1 as Annie Mac’s “Hottest Record.”

He also recently scored Platinum status with the 2019 single 'I Think I’m OKAY,' a fierce team-up with Machine Gun Kelly and Travis Barker. His new graphic novel, The Twisted Tales of the Ritalin Club Volume 2: Weird Times at Quarry Banks University, the follow-up to his 2019 print debut, is also set to be published in November.

Weird! Tracklisting:
1. teresa
2. cotton candy
3. strawberry lipstick
4. mars
5. superdeadfriends
6. love song
7. god save me, but don’t drown me out
8. ice cream man
9. weird!
10. charity
11. it’s quiet in beverly hills
12. the freak show

Listen to & stream Yungblud here.

  Shortlink to this content: