Pete Yorn Announces Two-Month Headlining Tour of U.S.

Dates will include six cities at which Yorn will perform his best-selling debut album, musicforthemorningafter in its entirety: Seattle, Vancouver, Portland, San Francisco, Los Angeles & San Diego musicforthemorningafter: 10th Anniversary Edition released by Columbia/Legacy as a two-CD set, double-LP vinyl, or download on March 29, 2011

NEW YORK, Feb. 3, 2011 -- An artist who bridged East Coast and West Coast roots-rock movements, and led the next generation of post-2000 acoustic-based singer-songwriters, Pete Yorn now celebrates his first decade as a recording artist withmusicforthemorningafter: 10th Anniversary Edition.  This double-disc repackaging of his classic debut album will be available at all physical and digital retail outlets starting March 29, 2011, through Columbia/Legacy, a division of SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT.

To celebrate the re-release of his classic debut, Yorn will perform musicforthemorningafter in its entirety in six cities during his 27-city headlining North American tour: Seattle, Vancouver, Portland, San Francisco, Los Angeles and San Diego.  The tour starts February 14th at the Marquee in Tempe, Arizona.  (Please see complete itinerary below.)

Released by Columbia Records on March 27, 2001, musicforthemorningafter has been newly remastered by Grammy Award®-winning engineer Bob Ludwig.  The original 15-song album comprises CD One of this commemorative 10th Anniversary Edition.  Collectors will note that the final track of the album, which has remained an unindexed "hidden" track in catalog all these years, is now formally indexed and identified: "A Girl Like You."

The 10th Anniversary Edition adds a second CD, which starts with the entire acoustic performance given by Yorn and his band on "Morning Becomes Eclectic," the popular radio program hosted by Nic Harcourt at KCRW-FM in Santa Monica.  The show reprised about half the songs on the album ("Life On A Chain," "Strange Condition," "Sense," "For Nancy ('Cos It Already Is)," "On Your Side," "Just Another," "Murray"), plus a cover of the Smiths' "Panic," and an interview segment.

The KCRW show took place on the day of the album release, March 27, 2001. Although promotional copies were circulated, and material subsequently turned up as bonus tracks on various releases, it has never been commercially available in its entirety until now.  The band included Pete on vocals and acoustic guitar, musicforthemorningafter album producer R. Walt Vincent on bass, long-time college bandmates Waz on guitar and Joe Kennedy on piano and electric guitar; and Scott Cougan on bongos and percussion.  

The rest of CD Two comprises four rarities: A previously unreleased demo version of "Closet" (from Yorn's personal archive); a previously unreleased song titled "The Barber" that was cut during the musicforthemorningafter sessions; "Knew Enough To Know Nothing At All," which has appeared as a bonus track and a B-side on various vinyl configurations in Europe and Japan; and "Life On A Chain (Hooky's Mix)," a previously unreleased mix by Brad Wood (another musicforthemorningafter album producer) made especially for this 10th Anniversary Edition.

musicforthemorningafter: 10th Anniversary Edition will be available as a two-CD set, and also as a special two-LP set on 180-gram vinyl.  The two-CD set will include a new liner notes essay written by Rolling Stone senior editor David Fricke, along with a personal note written by Yorn to his fans.

Pete Yorn's first three albums on Columbia Records constituted a day-in-the-life trilogy of sorts: musicforthemorningafter(2001), Day I Forgot (2003), and Nightcrawler (2006).  His next album (and final for Columbia) was Back and Fourth (June 2009).  Three months after its release, Yorn returned on a new label (ATCO/Rhino) for an album of duets with Scarlett Johansson, the 29-minute Break Up (September 2009), reportedly inspired by Serge Gainsbourg's 1967 and '68 collaborations with Brigitte Bardot.  Most recently, Pete was back on a new label (Vagrant) with the self-titled Pete Yorn (2010), produced byFrank Black of the Pixies.



14 Tempe, AZ The Marquee

16 Salt Lake City, UT The Depot

17 Denver, CO Ogden Theatre

19 Council Bluffs, IA Horseshoe Casino / Whiskey Roadhouse

20 N. Kansas City, MO VooDoo Lounge / Harrah's North Kansas City

22 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue

23 Chicago, IL Vic Theatre

27 St. Louis, MO The Pageant


1 Indianapolis, IN The Vogue

2 Columbus, OH Newport Music Hall

4 Pontiac, MI Clutch Cargo's

5 Toronto, Ont. Opera House Concert Venue

8 Boston, MA House Of Blues Boston Presented By Foxwoods

10 Philadelphia, PA Trocadero Theatre

11 New York, NY Terminal 5

14 Washington, DC 9:30 Club


1 Seattle, WA Showbox SoDo *

2 Vancouver, B.C. Commodore Ballroom *

3 Portland, OR Wonder Ballroom *

5 San Francisco, CA The Regency Ballroom *

6 Los Angeles, CA The Wiltern *

9 San Diego, CA House Of Blues *

10 Anaheim, CA House Of Blues

14 Houston, TX House Of Blues

15 Dallas, TX Granada Theater

16 Austin, TX Stubb's Bar-B-Q / Waller Creek Amph.

22 Atlanta, GA Center Stage

* denotes date at which musicforthemorningafter will be performed in its entirety.

musicforthemorningafter: 10th ANNIVERSARY EDITION by PETE YORN (Columbia/Legacy 88697 83026 2 5, originally issued March 27, 2001, as Columbia 62216)  Disc One – Selections1. Life On A Chain • 2. Strange Condition • 3. Just Another • 4. Black • 5. Lose You • 6. For Nancy ('Cos It Already Is) • 7. Murray • 8. June • 9. Sense • 10. Closet • 11. On Your Side • 12. Sleep Better • 13. EZ • 14. Simonize • 15. A Girl Like You (unindexed hidden track on original release).

Disc Two – Selections (tracks 1-11 live acoustic performance with band on "Morning Becomes Eclectic," with DJ/host Nic Harcourt, at KCRW-FM, Santa Monica, March 27, 2001, previously commercially unavailable)1. Intro • 2. Life On A Chain •3. Strange Condition • 4. Sense • 5. For Nancy ('Cos It Already Is) • 6. Interview Segment • 7. Panic • 8. On Your Side • 9. Just Another • 10. Murray • 11. Show Outro • Bonus tracks: 12. Closet (demo, previously unreleased) • 13. The Barber (previously unreleased) • 14. Knew Enough To Know Nothing At All (original vinyl release, also issued as a B-Side) • 15. Life On A Chain (Hooky's Mix) (2011 Brad Wood Mix, previously unreleased)

February 3, 2011 12:41pm ET by Pressparty   Comments (0)

, , , ,


Latest Press Releases

We may earn a commission from products purchased via links featured on our pages