Capitol/EMI to Release Maze's Greatest Hits on June 21, Commemorating Black Music Month

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., May 24, 2011 -- On June 21, Capitol/EMI will release a new 15-track collection of Maze featuring Frankie Beverly's Greatest Hits.  Commemorating Black Music Month and the 35th anniversary of Maze signing with Capitol Records, the new Greatest Hits features the acclaimed R&B/soul band's top hits and signature songs, including "Joy And Pain" (live), "Workin' Together," "Golden Time of Day," "Southern Girl," "Back In Stride," "Running Away," and many others.  

The Maze journey first began in 1970, when Frankie Beverly started a group named Raw Soul in his hometown of Philadelphia.  In 1971, after some changes to the band's lineup, Beverly and Raw Soul relocated to San Francisco and their big break came when Marvin Gaye, inspired by the band's fresh material, selected them as his opening act for a West Coast tour.  Gaye suggested the band change its name from Raw Soul to Maze, and the renamed Maze featuring Frankie Beverly signed with Capitol in 1976, releasing their self-titled debut album the following year.  Fueled by two hit singles, Maze featuring Frankie Beverly became the first in a series of seven Gold albums for the band and Capitol Records.

Maze's decades of hard work, inspired creativity and active touring have consistently resulted in sold out concert tours, and regular radio airplay of their hits is testament to the band's enduring relevance. Maze featuring Frankie Beverly is currently on tour, with several U.S. dates scheduled through the summer.

MAZE featuring Frankie Beverly: Greatest Hits [CD; digital]

1. Workin' Together

2. Golden Time Of Day

3. Feel That You're Feelin'

4. Southern Girl

5. Joy And Pain (live)

6. Running Away

7. Before I Let Go

8. Love Is The Key

9. We Are One

10. Back In Stride

11. Too Many Games

12. I Wanna Be With You

13. Happy Feelin's (Live)

14. Can't Get Over You

15. Silky Soul




May 24, 2011 12:47pm ET by Pressparty   Comments (0)

, , ,


Latest Press Releases