Biz 3 Publicity

LISTEN TO ROLE MODEL HERE: http://smarturl.it/fgrolemodel

Photo credit Aidan Cullen

Boston-based rapper Michael Christmas has just released his new album Role Model on new label home Fool's Gold. It's emotional, witty and real: a point of view with a sound all its own, thanks to MC's hand-picked production from underground favorites (Meltycannon, Thelonious Martin, Durkin) and his inspired, melodic flow. Guest verses from Cousin Stizz, G Perico, Domo Genesis, and Tobi Lou add spice to the project, but it's clear from the intro that Role Model is a one man show like none other.

The new LP is the end result of the ambitious strides Christmas has made since 2016's acclaimed Baggy Eyes EP. "Essentially what this album is capturing is me trying to teach the kids (which I use my sisters as the vessel for) how I maneuver through the craziness we see everyday," states Christmas. "I had been questioning for a long time whether I'm a good role model or not and came to the conclusion that I am a piece of shit... but who better to lead the kids through this piece of shit world than me? So I made an album talking about the way I see things and my life as of late while having my sisters watch me and pick up on these things themselves." The album arrives on the heels of album singles "Ball" (praised by Pitchfork as "a three pointer") and "Girlfriend," released earlier this month via a hilarious music video co-starring comedians Orlando Jones and Ron Funches, written and co-directed by Christmas himself: https://youtu.be/sHftD3yVRYc

Born and raised in Boston, the 24-year-old rapper broke into the national hip-hop scene in early 2014 with the arrival of his debut mixtape Is This Art? The project's rapturous response landed him as direct support on back-to-back tours with Logic and Mac Miller, which was followed in 2015 by his sophomore project What a Weird Day. The album drew widespread critical acclaim from the likes of Fader, VICE, XXL, MTV (who dubbed him "your favorite every-dude rapper"), amongst many others. Christmas has been a consistent presence on the live circuit ever since, highlighted by a standout performance at Lollapalooza in 2017, the opening slot on What So Not's sold-out US tour, and guest appearances on Fool's Gold DAY OFF shows that teased his signing to the beloved Brooklyn indie label. Christmas has honed his lyrical talents and immensely charismatic presentation on the road, and channeled it all in the studio while taking the time to perfect Role Model.

"One of rap's most promising class clowns." - PITCHFORK

"As famous for his sense of humor as he is his deft rhyme technique" - XXL


Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. These Days
  3. Honey Berry
  4. Girlfriend
  5. Everybody Eat (ft. Cousin Stizz)
  6. Upset
  7. Not For Me
  8. Polo Sweater (ft. G Perico & Domo Genesis)
  9. Ball
  10. Growing Up
  11. Brown Sugar
  12. Special Occasion
  13. Not The Only One (ft. Tobi Lou)
  14. Angels & Devils
  15. Outro

June 22, 2018 2:22pm ET by Pressparty  

, , , , , , , , ,

  Shortlink to this content: http://bit.ly/2MNgEAJ


Latest Press Releases