Macy Gray Returns with "COVERED" - An All New Album of Her Interpretations of Songs by Metallica, Arcade Fire, Radiohead, Eurythmics and More - Set for Release March 26th on 429 Records

Special iTunes Promotion Includes Exclusive Bonus Tracks New Video Filmed For "Two Joints" Buzz Builds With Confirmed TV Including Conan, Letterman, Piers Morgan, Tavis Smiley and More

Macy Gray, newly signed with 429 Records, is preparing for the release of her stunning new album "COVERED"—a collection of all new recordings of handpicked songs she's chosen to reinterpret in her own inimitable fashion.  With a buzz kicked off by an announcement in Billboard and Rolling Stone, Macy is already confirmed to appear on prime media outlets including Conan, Late Show with David Letterman, Piers Morgan Tonight, Tavis Smiley, VH1 and more.   Produced by Hal Willner (Lou Reed, Metallica), Zoux and Macy Gray, "COVERED" tackles material largely drawn from indie rock songs from the last decade—interpretations her fans will be familiar with as she's been performing them live over the years.  The album contains biting, dark signature tracks such as Arcade Fire's "Wake Up" or My Chemical Romance's "Teenagers" which Gray subversively overhauls into something wholly her own.  Also included are short skits featuring J.B. Smoove, Nicole Scherzinger and a guest appearance by Idris Elba. "COVERED" will be released worldwide on 429 Records March 26th with a special iTunes edition available which contains exclusive remixes of "Sail" and "Here Comes The Rain Again." In addition, Macy is planning a worldwide tour and has just completed the first video from the project.  Helmed by famed director Robert DeVico (Pink, Lenny Kravitz, Missy Elliott), Macy's first video from "COVERED" will be "Smoke Two Joints."  The wildly colorful, party-inspired clip features Macy and her bandmates performing against a picturesque Hollywood Hills backdrop and will be available to media outlets this month.  

Since her dazzling debut introduced this singular talent to the masses, Macy has forged an uncompromising musical path beholden to her own vision and garnering accolades at every juncture.  With "COVERED" Macy has turned the cover album concept on its ear choosing edgy contemporary choices and approaching them in an innovative and uncompromising way. Not surprising considering she's spent her career defying expectations and stretching musical boundaries.   

 "COVERED" Track Listing:

  1. Here Comes The Rain Again (Eurythmics)
  2. Creep (Radiohead)
  3. You Want Them Nervous (skit featuring J.B. Smoove)
  4. Smoke 2 Joints (The Toyes)
  5. La La La (Teaching The Kids) (featuring Layann Al Saud, Avery Albert, Happy Hinds & Siena Stelber)
  6. Teenagers (My Chemical Romance)
  7. The Power of Love (featuring Hugh Salk)
  8. Nothing Else Matters (Metallica)
  9. Sail (AWOLNATION)
  10. I Try Is Cool And All But…(skit featuring Nicole Scherzinger)
  11. Maps (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)
  12. Love Lockdown/Buck (Kanye West/Nina Simone)
  13. Mel Rap (featuring Mel Hinds)
  14. Bubbly (featuring Idris Elba) (Colbie Caillat)
  15. Wake Up (Arcade Fire)
  16. Really? (skit featuring MC Lyte)


For more information visit:

429 Records is a unit of The Savoy Label Group (SLG).  SLG is the North American based division of Nippon Columbia the oldest musiccompany in Japan.  The Savoy Label Group has evolved into a Grammy Award winning and chart topping independent music company consistently outperforming competitors in key music categories as monitored by Billboard Magazine. The Savoy Label Group is led by Steve Vining and is based in Los Angeles, CA.

March 5, 2012 3:26pm ET by Macy Gray   Comments (0)

, , , , , , ,


Latest Press Releases