Pretty Hate Machine, Nine Inch Nails' Groundbreaking Debut Album, Remastered and Re-Released

Digital remaster and new packaging overseen by Trent Reznor

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 25 -- Fans can now revisit the conception of Nine Inch Nails.  Trent Reznor's Null Corporation has teamed with UMe/The Bicycle Music Company to release Pretty Hate Machine: 2010 Remaster on November 22, 2010.  After completing the score for David Fincher's The Social Network, Reznor oversaw the digital remastering of Pretty Hate Machine from the newly unearthed original tapes with engineer Tom Baker (whose NIN credits include The Downward Spiral, Broken, The Fragile, With Teeth and Ghosts).  This remastered version includes an eleventh track, a cover of Queen's "Get Down, Make Love," originally the B-side to the "Sin" single and produced by Al Jourgensen.  Rob Sheridan, NIN's longtime art director, has also re-imagined the packaging of Pretty Hate Machine under Reznor's supervision.

For the first time ever, Pretty Hate Machine will also be available everywhere as a digital download.

As a young musician in Cleveland, Ohio, Reznor took a job at a local recording studio and employed unused studio time to develop his own material.  The nascent album was later recorded with his favorite producers including Flood/Mark Ellis (U2, Depeche Mode, PJ Harvey), John Fryer (Cocteau Twins, This Mortal Coil), Adrian Sherwood (Ministry, Cabaret Voltaire) andKeith LeBlanc (Tackhead).  The result was the first Nine Inch Nails album, 1989's Pretty Hate Machine.  All songs were written, arranged, programmed and performed by Reznor.  The album featured the breakthrough singles "Sin," "Down In It" and "Head Like A Hole," and ultimately sold over 3 million copies, reaching Triple Platinum sales status.  In the wake of the album's initial underground success, NIN soon developed a reputation as one of the best live acts in rock and joined the inaugural Lollapalooza tour in 1991.  NIN have since sold more than 18 million albums, collected Grammy® Awards and headlined arenas, amphitheaters and festivals worldwide.

The Bicycle Music Company acquired the rights to Pretty Hate Machine from a division of Prudential Securities in the spring of 2010.  It was Bicycle's intention from the onset to enable Reznor to regain some control of this lost piece of NIN's legacy, resulting in this artist approved 2010 reissue of one of music's most groundbreaking and influential albums.  Note: The previous CD version was reissued in 2005 but was not overseen by Reznor and is now out of print.

Reznor is currently working on new music as a member of the group How To Destroy Angels, continuing his Nine Inch Nails efforts and composing for future film score projects.

 1. Head Like A Hole 2. Terrible Lie 3. Down In It 4. Sanctified 5. Something I Can Never Have 6. Kinda I Want To 7. Sin 8. That's What I Get 9. The Only Time 10. Ringfinger 11. Get Down, Make Love

SOURCE Universal Music Enterprises

October 25, 2010 11:26am ET by Nine Inch Nails   Comments (0)

, , , , , ,


Latest Press Releases