Monday, December 5, 2011 3:52am ET by  
Comments (0)

, , , , , , ,

BBC unveils its Sound of 2012 longlist

The BBC has revealed its Sound of 2012 longlist and the artists that have made the cut are very different from last year's selection, which included vocal sensation Jessie J

The top 15 acts, which made the list thanks to the "tips from more than 180 influential UK tastemakers", span genres from rap to urban to dubstep and are international. 

Dubstep producers Skrillex and Flux Pavillion are included in the longlist, UK hip-hop and grime MC Dot Rotten is also a finalist and the other acts which people may already be familiar with are Frank Ocean and Dry The River. 

The Sound of 2012 winner - and top 5 - will be unveiled in January and the full list of finalists is as follows:

  • A$AP Rocky
  • Azealia Banks
  • Dot Rotten
  • Dry The River
  • Flux Pavilion
  • Frank Ocean
  • Friends
  • Jamie N Commons
  • Lianne La Havas
  • Michael Kiwanuka
  • Niki & The Dove
  • Ren Harvieu
  • Skrillex
  • Spector
  • Stooshe

Watch Skrillex's video for 'First Of The Year (Equinox)' below: